William Fraker

A friend of mine in Los Angeles just sent some somber news. William Fraker has passed away.

Mr. Fraker was the gifted cinematographer who shot Rosemary’s Baby, Bullitt, War Games, The Freshman and so many more.

I had the pleasure the pleasure of meeting and working with him a couple years ago. He appears in Old School New School and his appearance has repeatedly been a crowd pleaser at screenings. He was a gracious and pleasant and giving man, energized by life and had a smile that was infectious. My memories of our time together and our phone chats long after shooting will stay with me a very long time.

One of the earliest pictures I ever saw in theater was The Legend of the Lone Ranger. Fraker directed it and Christopher Lloyd appears as the nemesis. The movie had a profound affect on me and a life long fascination with the American West and, believe it or not, Native American culture. The movie also features one of the most remarkable stunts ever captured on camera. Going from memory here…. I think it was a scene in which a stagecoach is being robbed by bandits charging it on horseback. One rider jumps onto the four or six horses pulling the stage but then falls to the ground among their hooves. The stuntman, playing the bandit, basically lays on his back while the horses and stage continue riding over him at full speed.

At any rate, it was an incredible stunt.

You can see a clip from Mr. Fraker’s appearance in OSNS here.

Thank you for everything, Mr. Fraker.
~Steven

Steven Fischer with William Fraker shooting on location in Hollywood in 2008.

Steven Fischer with William Fraker shooting on location in Hollywood in 2008.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “William Fraker”

  1. Julie Gerhardt Says:

    I was so Lucky to have known my Uncle Fraker. He was the most generous and kind hearted man I have met. He was so talented also. I always told all my friends about him and all the movies he filmed. I am and always was so proud to be his niece!!

    I will miss him.

Leave a Reply

